BeGreen Chrome
Hard Chrome Plating on the basis of trivalent chromium compounds

[separator width=”100%” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”20px”]

Hard chrome is characterised by a variety of technical properties that are valued in a wide range of industries and, in combination, cannot currently be replaced by any other technology. Because of the dangers posed by chromium(VI), the surface finishing industry has been looking for an alternative for several years. While chromium(III) technology is already used for decorative purposes, this process has not yet been transferred to functional chromium plating. In a joint research cooperation, COVENTYA and Betz-Chrom have now succeeded in developing a stable pilot process for functional coating with chromium(III). The process delivers reproducible hard chrome coatings of high quality.

Our BeGreen Chrome process deposits a functional hard chrome layer based on trivalent chromium compounds from the electrolyte DURATRI 240. The first customer components have already been successfully coated and are now being tested for their suitability for the corresponding application. We are currently looking for further interested pioneers who want to test a functional chrome plating with chromium(III) on their components. Contact us for a project planning and be part of the chrome plating of a new generation!

Start R&D project with us!

[button title=”contact” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/contact/?lang=en” icon=”moon-arrow-right-3″]
[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”Manufacturing Specifications”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]
[services_small title=”Weight” icon=”moon-balance” icon_color=”#ffc125″ dynamic_content_type=”content” dynamic_content_content=”Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem”]Up to 250 kg[/services_small]
[services_small title=”Dimensions” icon=”steadysets-icon-measure” icon_color=”#ffc125″ dynamic_content_type=”content” dynamic_content_content=”Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem”]Vertical: ⌀ 900 x 650 x 700 mm
Horizontal: ⌀ 600 x 500 mm[/services_small]
[services_small title=”Material” icon=”steadysets-icon-settings” icon_color=”#ffc125″ dynamic_content_type=”content” dynamic_content_content=”Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem”]Steel and its alloys
Copper and its alloys
Non-ferrous metals[/services_small]
[services_small title=”Layer thickness” icon=”moon-stack-3″ icon_color=”#ffc125″ dynamic_content_type=”content” dynamic_content_content=”Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem”]Precision plating: 5 – 40 µm
Excess plating: up to 200 µm
Hybrid: e.g. 30 µm nickel + 30 µm chromium[/services_small]
[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”Properties of Hard Chrome”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]

Hard chrome is characterised by high hardness, abrasion resistance, corrosion resistance and very good wear resistance. Hard chromium plating extends the technical properties of components and prolongs their service life. Functional chrome plating is used in particular for wear protection in the aerospace, automotive, hydraulics and various branches of mechanical engineering.

[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”Hazardous substance chromium(VI)”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]

National authorities and international regulations such as REACh set strict requirements and limits for the use of hexavalent chromium in surface coatings. Chromium(VI) compounds are mutagenic and carcinogenic. Workers must be protected against exposure and the environment against emissions. The chromium layer deposited by the galvanic process is present as a metal in neutral form – Chromium(0). Hard chromium-plated components are non-toxic and therefore harmless.

[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”The BeGreen Chrome Process”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]

DURATRI 240 meets the requirements of the surface industry for a more environmentally friendly process by avoiding hexavalent chromium compounds. Our BeGreen Chrome process is much more complex than conventional hard chrome plating. It requires a multi-part pretreatment series and complex anode technology. Betz-Chrom is willing to meet these challenges and is thus consistently pursuing the self-imposed vision of green electroplating.

[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”Coating properties”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]
[list][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Colour” desc=”semi-gloss greyish” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Hardness” desc=”800 – 900 HV 0.05
with post-treatment up to 1600 HV” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Roughness” desc=”Rmax < 0.1 μm to Rz 70 μm” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Macro cracked” desc=”8 µm: 20 cracks/mm with 200 – 250 nm crack size
35 µm: 10 cracks/mm with 800 – 900 nm crack size
110 µm: 3 cracks/mm with 1.5 µm crack size” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][/list]
[list][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Wear resistance (abrasion resistance)” desc=”Taber Abraser Test: 1.6 mg / 1000 rotations” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Korrosionsbeständigkeit nach DIN EN ISO 9227-NSS” desc=”Chrome 50 µm: 120 h Rp 9
Hybrid Nickel 30 µm + Chrom 20 µm: 1008 h Rp 10″ icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Magnetic property” desc=”non-magnetic” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][list_item style=”titledesc” title=”Food-safe” desc=”Lead and cadmium free (RoHS compliant)” icon=”moon-arrow-right-2″ icon_color=”#ffc125″][/list]

Betz-Chrom has commissioned the independent Institute for Galvanic and Surface Technology Solingen (IGOS) to analyse the coating properties. The tested steel bolts were coated with DURATRI 240 by Betz-Chrom. IGOS carried out a 1008-hour salt spray test in accordance with DIN EN ISO 9227 NSS:2017-07, coating thickness measurement in accordance with DIN EN ISO 2178:2016-11, wear test with the friction wheel method in accordance with DIN EN ISO 7784-2:2016-12 and Vickers hardness test in accordance with DIN EN ISO 4516:2002-10. In addition, the crack pattern of the chromium layer was shown.

[media animation=”none” image=”6231″]
[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”BeGreen Chrome – why green?”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]

Like proud parents, we have given our new process a name: BeGreen Chrome. “Be” identifies the belonging to the Betz Chrome family. “Chrome” informs about the type of coating. But what does “Green” mean? With this we want to emphasize hard chrome plating on the basis of trivalent chrome compounds. While chromium(VI)-oxide is red-violet, chromium(III)-oxide has a green colour. The avoidance of hexavalent chromium compounds is also a more environmentally friendly process. We hope that our BeGreen Chrome process will be able to replace hard chrome plating based on hexavalent chrome compounds in the long term. The introduction of BeGreen Chrome therefore represents an important step in the pursuit of our vision of green electroplating.

[block_title style=”column_title” second_title=”Cooperations partner COVENTYA”][/block_title][separator width=”80px” height=”1px” color=”#e7e7e7″ margin_top=”-15px” margin_bottom=”30px”]

COVENTYA is a privately held, international company that develops, manufactures and distributes specialty chemicals for the surface finishing industry. COVENTYA has 10 research and development centres worldwide, each with a specific purpose related to the strength of its local industries. Click here to visit the COVENTYA website.

[video_lightbox_button link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/wp-content/uploads/conventya_english_2_nov.mp4″ image=”6109″]

Betz-Chrom – your partner for strong parts

In the sense of a trustful partnership, you will receive highly qualified technical advice from us that is tailored to your needs. We combine over 65 years of experience in surface technology with an innovative and inquisitive corporate culture. Our quality awareness, our occupational health and safety management as well as our measures for environmental protection and energy saving are audited and certified according to DIN standards. As an on-schedule partner with high quality level, we constantly aim to find the optimal process solution for you.

[button title=”Learn more about Betz-Chrom” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/company/?lang=en” with_icon_bool=”no”]
[media animation=”none” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/certifications/?lang=en” image=”2289″]
[media animation=”none” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/certifications/?lang=en” image=”2291″]
[media animation=”none” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/certifications/?lang=en” image=”2290″]
[media animation=”none” link=”https://www.betz-chrom.de/certifications/?lang=en” image=”6316″]

This post is also available in: German

BeGreen CHROME

Funktionelles Verchromen der neuen Generation

BeGreen Chrome
Hartverchromung auf Basis dreiwertiger Chromverbindungen

Hartchrom zeichnet sich durch eine Vielfalt an technischen Eigenschaften aus, die in den unterschiedlichsten Industrien geschätzt und in Kombination derzeit durch kein anderes Verfahren ersetzt werden können. Aufgrund der von Chrom(VI) ausgehenden Gefahren wird seit einigen Jahren in der Galvano- und Oberflächentechnik nach einer Alternative zur Verchromung mit Chrom(VI) geforscht. Während die Chrom(III) Technologie für dekorative Zwecke bereits zum Einsatz kommt, konnte dieses Verfahren bisher nicht auf die funktionelle Verchromung übertragen werden. In einer gemeinsamen Forschungskooperation ist COVENTYA und Betz-Chrom nun die Entwicklung eines stabilen Pilot-Prozesses zur funktionellen Beschichtung mit Chrom(III) gelungen. Der Prozess liefert reproduzierbare Hartchromschichten mit hoher Qualität.

Unser Verfahren BeGreen Chrome scheidet aus dem Elektrolyten DURATRI 240 eine funktionelle Hartchromschicht auf Basis dreiwertiger Chromverbindungen ab. Erste Kundenbauteile konnten bereits erfolgreich beschichtet werden und befinden sich derzeit in der Beprobung hinsichtlich ihrer Tauglichkeit im entsprechenden Anwendungsfall. Aktuell suchen wir weitere interessierte Pioniere, die eine funktionelle Verchromung mit Chrom(III) an ihren Bauteilen testen wollen. Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Projektierung und seien Sie Teil der Verchromung einer neuen Generation!

Jetzt F&E-Projekt starten!

Fertigungsspezifikationen

Gewicht

Bis 250 kg

Maße

Vertikal: ⌀ 900 x 650 x 700 mm
Horizontal: ⌀ 600 x 500 mm

Material

Stahl und dessen Legierungen
Kupfer und dessen Legierungen
Buntmetalle

Schichtdicke

Maßverchromen: 5 – 40 µm
Übermaßverchromen: bis 200 µm
Hybrid: z.B. 30 µm Nickel + 30 µm Chrom

Eigenschaften Hartchrom

Hartchrom zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Härte, Abriebfestikeit, Korrosionsbeständigkeit und sehr gute Verschleißfestigkeit aus. Das Hartverchromen erweitert die technischen Eigenschaften von Bauteilen und verlängert deren Lebenszyklus. Insbesondere zum Verschleißschutz wird die funktionelle Verchromung in der Luft- und Raumfahrt, der Automobilindustrie, der Hydraulik und in den verschiedensten Branchen des Maschinenbaus genutzt.

Gefahrstoff Chrom(VI)

Nationale Behörden und internationale Verordnungen wie REACh geben strenge Anforderungen und Grenzwerte für die Verwendung von sechswertigem Chrom in der Oberflächenbeschichtung vor. Chrom(VI)-Verbindungen sind mutagen und kanzerogen. Arbeiter sind vor einer Exposition sowie die Umwelt vor Emissionen zu schützen. Die im galvanischen Verfahren abgeschiedene Chromschicht liegt als Metall in neutraler Form – Chrom(0) – vor. Hartverchromte Bauteile sind nicht toxisch und somit ungefährlich.

Das Verfahren BeGreen Chrome

DURATRI 240 erfüllt die Anforderungen der Oberflächenindustrie an einen umweltverträglicheren Prozess durch Vermeidung sechswertiger Chromverbindungen. Unser Verfahren BeGreen Chrome ist im Vergleich zur herkömmlichen Hartverchromung deutlich aufwendiger. Es bedarf einer mehrteiligen Vorbehandlungsreihe und aufwendiger Anodentechnik. Betz-Chrom stellt sich diesen Herausforderungen und verfolgt damit konsequent die sich selbst auferlegte Vision der Grünen Galvanik.

Schichteigenschaften

  • Farbe

    halbglänzend gräulich

  • Härte

    800 - 1000 HV 0,05
    mit Nachbehandlung bis 1600 HV

  • Rauheiten

    Rmax < 0,1 μm bis Rz 70 μm

  • Makrorissig

    8 µm: 20 Risse/mm mit 200 - 250 nm Rissgröße
    35 µm: 10 Risse/mm mit 800 - 900 nm Rissgröße
    110 µm: 3 Risse/mm mit 1,5 µm Rissgröße

  • Verschleißbeständigkeit (Abriebwiderstand)

    Taber Abraser Test: 1,6 mg / 1000 Umdrehungen

  • Korrosionsbeständigkeit nach DIN EN ISO 9227-NSS

    Chrom 50 µm: 120 h Rp 9
    Hybrid Nickel 30 µm + Chrom 20 µm: 1008 h Rp 10

  • Magnetische Eigenschaft

    nicht magnetisch

  • Lebensmittelecht

    blei- und cadmiumfrei (RoHS-konform)

Für die Untersuchung der Schichteigenschaften hat Betz-Chrom das unabhängige Institut für Galvano- und Oberflächentechnik Solingen (IGOS) beauftragt. Geprüft wurden von Betz-Chrom mit DURATRI 240 beschichtete Stahlbolzen. An diesen führte IGOS eine 1008 Stunden Salzprühnebelprüfung nach DIN EN ISO 9227 NSS:2017-07, Schichtdickenmessung nach DIN EN ISO 2178:2016-11, Verschleißprüfung mit dem Reibradverfahren nach DIN EN ISO 7784-2:2016-12 und Härteprüfung nach Vickers gemäß DIN EN ISO 4516:2002-10 durch. Darüber hinaus wurde die Rissikgkeit der Chromschicht dargestellt.

Alt Text

BeGreen Chrome - warum grün?

Wie stolze Eltern haben wir unserem neuen Verfahren einen Namen gegeben: BeGreen Chrome. “Be” kennzeichnet die Zugehörigkeit zur Betz-Chrom Familie. “Chrome” informiert über die Art der Beschichtung. Aber was bedeutet “Green”? Damit wollen wir die Hartverchromung auf Basis dreiwertiger Chromverbindungen hervorheben. Während Chrom(VI)-oxid rotviolett ist, weist Chrom(III)-oxid eine grüne Farbe auf. Die Vermeidung sechswertiger Chromverbindungen stellt zudem einen umweltverträglicheren Prozess dar. Wir hoffen, dass unser Verfahren BeGreen Chrome auf lange Sicht die Hartverchromung auf Basis sechswertiger Chromverbindungen substitutieren kann. Die Einführung von BeGreen Chrome stellt daher einen wichtigen Schritt bei der Verfolgung unserer Vision der Grünen Galvanik dar.

Kooperationspartner COVENTYA

COVENTYA ist eine privat geführte, internationale Firmengruppe, die Spezialchemikalien für die Oberflächentechnik entwickelt, herstellt und vertreibt. COVENTYA hat weltweit 10 Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentren, die entsprechend ihrer lokalen Stärken jeweils spezielle technische Schwerpunkte haben. Hier gelangen Sie zur Webseite von COVENTYA.

Placeholder

Betz-Chrom ist Ihr Partner für starke Bauteile

Im Sinne einer vertrauensvollen Partnerschaft erhalten Sie von uns eine hochqualifzierte und auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zielgerichtete technische Beratung. Wir kombinieren über 65 Jahre Erfahrung in der Oberflächentechnik mit einer innovativen und wissbegierigen Unternehmenskultur. Unser Qualitätsbewusstsein, unser Arbeitsschutzmanagement sowie unsere Maßnahmen zum Umweltschutz und zur Energieeinsparung sind nach Norm geprüft und zertifiziert. Als termintreuer Partner mit hohem Qualitätsanspruch haben wir stets das Ziel, für Sie die optimale Verfahrenslösung zu finden.

This post is also available in: Englisch